Tags

, , , ,

I struggle with exercise. I don’t drive so I do walk a lot which helps, but it’s never going to get me fit, just keep me from being slightly less fit.

I have never found a mode of exercise that I really enjoyed and found pleasure in which has been the principal stumbling block to exercise.

I finally started to break this last year at a friend’s 50th birthday party when, not knowing many people, I danced for about 6 hours straight to the best DJ ever. As I ached the next day, I thought, as I have done whenever I’ve had a good dance, wouldn’t it be nice to do that two or three times a week, just for the sheer enjoyment of it.

Well that’s a bit impractical, but combined with children having tried out dance mats at a local school (thanks to Extended Schools) and my having purchased a Wii for my 40th, it turned out I could combine the two and get a Wii dance mat. So I did.

And for the first time, I exercised 4-7 times a week. And enjoyed it. Did not consider it a chore. Then I started a fitness programme on the Wii and kept up with that for a good three months.

So, despite everything else that has been going on last year, I managed to maintain regular exercise for a good six months for the first time. Good stuff.

Come November though, I just lost the will to live and gave up completely.

So here we are, two months later, less fit, and certainly fatter. I’m finally trying to get back into fitness (not as a New Year’s Resolution, but because it’s time) and concentrate on feeling good after having exercised; the sense of achievement that combines with achy and tired muscles to make me feel it was worth it.

I’m also going to attempt to write a weekly fitness diary, just to see whether it helps to keep me going.

