Tags

, ,

I don’t do New Year’s Resolutions as I firmly believe that if a thing is worth doing it’s worth starting now, not waiting for an arbitrary date. But I’ve been putting off starting this book and today’s the day.

Rosie Molinary asked me on twitter if I was ready to give up self hate and kindly sent me her book, Beautiful You, when I said yes. It contains 365 thoughts and actions for the day and I’m going to try to get through them all this year, which does tie in neatly with starting on January 1st.

So, let’s begin.

I would like to be proud of my body. It’s given me four children and has served me well so far. I would at least be able to look at it in a neutral way if I can’t be positive about it.

I would like to look at other people and not immediately think fat/thin/too thin and just see them as people, to not envy someone because they look the “right” size. I know this is an invalid judgement and wouldn’t want people to judge me this way, but can I shake it off?

I would like to be fitter, by which I mean have stronger muscles, to be able to incorporate exercise, however little, into my daily routine and to enjoy it. I’d also like to be able to run for a bus without gasping for breath.

I would like to look at my face in the mirror and think “nice”, as a minimum, rather than not liking what I see.

I would like to have more energy, to not feel so slothful. Is that about body image? I don’t know but I feel lazy.

As far as the wider world goes I have hopes that stand no chance of being fulfilled this year:
to not see weight loss being touted as the solution to everything in the media;
to not see fat people blamed for their size as a lack of will power;
to not see diets being promoted as the way to personal happiness;
to see exercise being sold as being good for your health and fitness, not to lose weight;
to recognising that we are all different, there is no one size fits all solution;
to see fashion models not being stick thin but looking like real people;
to see fat people in the media more often in their own right;
to not seeing people being judged on a daily basis for their size.

How do I start to live these hopes? By getting up and doing some exercise and by trying to say stop to myself when I have negative thoughts about my body image or anyone else’s.

Beautiful You by Rosie Molinary

Beautiful You by Rosie Molinary

Beautiful You, by Rosie Molinary is available at Amazon (click on the picture) and her website is Rosie Molinary

