Tags

, , ,

The Body Warrior Pledge: Because I understand that my love and respect for my body are metaphors of my love and respect for my self and soul, I pledge:

– to stop berating my body and to begin celebrating the vessel that I have been given;

Without my body I wouldn’t be alive. I wouldn’t be able to look at the stars, feel a snowflake on my skin, smell bacon cooking, taste cheese, listen to music or hug my child. It has given me the ability to create four new humans and to feed them. It’s given me a mind that I enjoy using to think, to read, to reason, to love, to laugh, to affirm my own individuality and to make my own choices.

– to understand that my body is an opportunity not a scapegoat;

If I can’t do something it’s often because I choose not to, hiding behind my body as an excuse. I need to search for that honesty and look for the real reasons for not doing what I want.

– to be the primary source of my confidence. I will not rely on others to define my worth.

Nobody else gives me confidence like I do. I know that but yet I still hear little voices in my head, often one parent or the other, busting my confidence. Little voices OUT!

– to let envy dissipate and allow admiration to be a source of compassion by offering compliments to others;

I am good at giving compliments as I know how much pleasure I take in receiving them. I do look at other people in situations I feel I would like to be in and feel envious, whilst acknowledging that what I see may not be the reality. Losing envy will be hard. I need to affirm the positives in my life rather than the dreams of what might have been.

– to gently but firmly stand up for myself when someone says something harmful;

This is something I have been working on last year and have got better at, and shall continue to do so.

– to change the inner monologue in my head to one that sees possibility not problems, potential not shortcomings, blessings not imperfections.

In other words see the glass as half full, not half empty. I excel at noting all the things I haven’t done rather than that which I have. Again, this is about shutting out the inner voices.

– to give my body the things that it needs to do its work well;

I need to be more active as it makes me feel better. If I feed my body well with food and drink then it performs better and I feel happier. I need to pay my body more attention and look after it better.

– to see exercise as a way to improve my internal health and strength;

Exercise can be fun and done for the enjoyment and the feeling of wellbeing I get out of it. Not because of some stupid calorie counter or because I think I ought to or indeed because someone tells me to, but because, like brushing my teeth, eating and taking medication, it’s part of keeping my body working better.

– to understand that my weight is not good or bad. It is just a number, and I am only good;

I would find this easier if I was fitter but I think my aim is to concentrate on getting fitter rather than worrying about weight and to appreciate the good feeling that exercise gives me.

– to love my body and myself today.

I think this is the hardest of all and encompasses all the other points here. I shall start by trying to stop hating my body and to recognise that I do have worth as I am without having to be perfect (which is good as I’m definitely not).

– to recognise my body’s strenths;

Well it hasn’t collapsed on me yet. I have in my life been very healthy with no long term illness or disease, no operations or accidents. Getting pregnant was easy for me, something I didn’t really appreciate until I heard other women’s difficulties. Even the menopause was easy, if very early. My body must be strong as it is healthy and always has been.

– to no longer put off the things that I wish to experience because I am waiting to do them in a different body;

Hmmm. I don’t have the confidence to venture into an amorous relationship but that’s not just about my body but my self-confidence generally. The only other thing I’m aware of not doing due to my body is be able to go clothes shopping and enjoy it but that’s also because shops tend not to stock sizes large enough and it just gets depressing.

– to understand that a body, just like a personality, is like a fingerprint – a wonderful embodiment of my uniqueness.

In other words, I need to own my body, rather than wish I had a different one.

Beautiful You by Rosie Molinary

Beautiful You by Rosie Molinary

Beautiful You, by Rosie Molinary is available at Amazon (click on the picture) and her website is Rosie Molinary

