Tags

, ,

This is something else that I have done. When I first started reading Intuitive Eating and thinking about how much dietary talk takes over conversations, especially between women, I stopped participating.

I do remember listening to a male conversation talking about eating healthily but still piling on the weight and doctor couldn’t help and realising how exactly similar this sounded to women talking. I get funny looks if I say that diets don’t work; people tend to look at me as if I’m mad rather than ask me what I mean, so deeply is diet talk entrenched in our vocabulary.

One of my neighbours congratulated me as I walked down the street a few years ago. I looked at her blankly and said “what for?”. She hesitated, said “well you’re …. oh” and walked off. No, I wasn’t pregnant, merely putting on weight but I know how the remark made me feel. It’s fine when people ask you whether you’ve lost weight if you have, but if you haven’t it hurts and you also wonder what you’re doing that makes you look as if you’ve lost weight.

Better still to just skip that conversation.

Beautiful You by Rosie Molinary

Beautiful You by Rosie Molinary

Beautiful You, by Rosie Molinary is available at Amazon (click on the picture) and her website is Rosie Molinary

