Tags

, ,

It’s a nice thought, isn’t it?

If you’ve read more than a few posts you’ll have gathered I have issues with cooking. I’m quite happy to eat well, but it’s the planning that I find really irritating.

I can blame that on the amount of attention my parents spent on food; talking, preparing, planning, reviewing, endless discussions. I can also see my mother, somewhat more prosaically sitting down with the back of an envelope saying “what shall we eat this week?” I can blame it on Ex1 who decided that I couldn’t cook and for the most part (except for when drunk), took over the cooking which I was quite happy to let him do, except for the occasional sneer reminding me that I couldn’t cook. Ex2 was happy to leave it all to me as anything else might mean him doing something. He’d cook a curry once every six months and I’d have to be prepared to not eat until very late.

So that’s the past.

My children are faddy eaters. I’m not sure how they got that way as it certainly wasn’t intentional. They were all breastfed for 12-21 months and then went onto pureed vegetables, with not a bottle of formula or of baby food in sight. I always cooked them the bland version of whatever I was eating. Maybe that’s the problem.

I wouldn’t mind them being faddy if they all had the same fads but no. One will eat salad, one will eat fruit, the other won’t eat either. I’ve tried the no pudding until you’ve had your mouthfuls of veg and 4son would sit there for an hour trying to force down two pieces of carrots while crying. I gave that up as too cruel and pointless. They don’t like spices and that includes a sprinkling of pepper so they will refuse to eat  some sausages for example because they’re too peppery. So it’s complicated.

As for me I think I eat in an unbalanced way. It wasn’t until I was reading the relative chapter in HAES that I really thought about whether I eat enough carbohydrates or whether I still use that diet mentality of a lot of salad and a little bit of protein and that’s a good meal. So I’m trying to add a bit more back into my diet. I eat very little puddings or sweets, mainly because I’m not bothered but again, I’m trying to have a little something sweet when I feel the urge rather than be “good” and resist the temptation.

I have lost the will and interest in planning food and that’s my trouble. I’m quite happy to cook and quite enjoy it, but all those years of my parents talking about food has taken its toll and, like many others who have to cook on a daily basis, I just find it boring.

I mentioned some months back that I’d bought some student cookbooks and have given them to the boys to choose a recipe every week each so that they are contributing to the discussion. That has worked well when I remember to get them to choose but I haven’t done since Christmas and that’s something I need to get back to and that they also have asked for.

So as to today, have I done well food-wise? Let’s see.
2 toast and marmite for breakfast.
2 cheese and onion on toast for lunch. (running out of food…)
home made chicken nuggets, salad and jacket potatoes for dinner, shortly to be followed by a yoghurt.
I’ve had gallons of tea. I drink China tea, made in tea pots with fresh tea leaves. I’ll drink black in the morning and drink green, white or puerh in the afternoon, followed by redberries in the evening. Lots of different varieties and I stay off the black tea after teatime so the caffeine doesn’t affect my sleep. I have about two cups of coffee a month and virtually no fizzy drinks unless I’m mixing them with alcohol.

Alcohol, mmm. I will be having a glass or two of wine later. I either don’t drink at all at home, have a glass or two, or finish the bottle. If I’m out, I tend to drink a fair amount of beer, depending on where I am but I certainly drink more than my weekly allowance. I am drinking less at home now that I’m on anti-depressants as I don’t feel the need quite as much which is good. I am very aware that my intake varies substantially according to my mood at home. Slowing down drinking when out is harder but I’m focusing on cutting down at home first.

So what does the future bring?

More planning in advance. If I do that, I don’t get irritated by trying to do it every meal time and we all eat better.
Carry on trying to balance it a little better, paying attention to what I want to eat rather than what I think I should eat.
Encouraging my children to try, even if they don’t like. But so often the eyes reject what the mouth hasn’t yet tasted.
Try to get a bigger list of meals that they will happily eat.
Get more variety into my meals, as well as more fibre.

Beautiful You by Rosie Molinary

Beautiful You by Rosie Molinary

Beautiful You, by Rosie Molinary, with 365 thoughts and challenges, is available at Amazon (click on the picture) and her website is Rosie Molinary

