Tags

, , ,

Consider the time you’ve spent obsessing and faffing about some aspect of your appearance. How many hours were lost and were they worth it?

I think I actually need to reverse this and spend a little more time considering how I look.

Let’s consider the time I’ve saved over the years:

Other than for a brief interlude as a teenager I’ve never worn makeup. That’s what, half an hour a day?

I gave up using a hair dryer sometime after my first child on the basis that it took too long and damaged my hair. I grew my hair long which also meant that it took more than the five-ten minutes it used to take with short hair.

I am trying to dress up just a little when I go out, even if it’s just changing a top. I have spent several years, due to children and lassitude, not wearing nice clothes because I can’t be bothered to get changed and because they need more care. After years of refusing to buy more than the minimum in the forlorn hope it would encourage me to lose weight I’ve given that up and now have a bit more of a choice. I know that I feel better when I look better and while I’m trying to not mind that I look fat (because I am fat) that doesn’t mean I have to look dull and boring.

That previous sentence is actually quite important.

And I’ve lost all those weekly weigh-in sessions at Weight Watchers. Over several years. That time is lost that I’m pleased to not still be losing. It wasn’t worth it.

What I have lost is an awful lot of time being unhappy. Hours, weeks, months, if not years.

I’m working on spending more time having fun and being happy.

Beautiful You by Rosie Molinary

Beautiful You by Rosie Molinary

Beautiful You, by Rosie Molinary, with 365 thoughts and challenges, is available at Amazon (click on the picture) and her website is Rosie Molinary

