Tags

, , ,

This is hard. Who spoke up for me when I couldn’t. When did I champion myself?

Vincent, Year 7. One of 11 boys who came to an all-girls school when it started accepting boys. I remember the one occasion when he flared up and had a go at the ringleader for constantly picking on me. Don’t know why and nothing came of it, but I remember that moment.

I had a drama teacher during the last four years of school who I worked with on theatre productions. I looked after her. She looked after me. She valued me and said so. I still have the cards that she gave me after each show that said thank you for being brilliant.The necklace she gave me has long since disintegrated but I still remember it and her with great affection. She made me feel good because she told me how valuable what I did was and because she treated me with respect. Thanks Jacqueline.

I used to do some voluntary work with an organisation that I left because I disagreed strongly with an action they were taking. I bumped into Brian, who had dragged me in to help initially a few years afterwards and he gave thanks for the work I had done. He also made the interesting and accurate comment that he could depend on me because I never forgot anything; I always listed all the actions that needed doing, however trivial and would work my way through them, prioritising as necessary, but without letting things slide. I thought about it and realised how true this was, not just in work terms but also personally. So I was pleased that he noticed and thoughtful about what he said.

There have been a few work colleagues along the way who have appreciated my skills. Richard came in one Monday morning daring me to write him a macro he’d dreamed of at 2 in the morning. He liked to challenge me and this was his best effort. It took me until lunchtime but because he had a go himself he knew how difficult it could be. He was appropriately impressed.

That’s all I can think of. Isn’t that sad. This is supposed to be a happy post but it doesn’t feel that way.

The greatest champions I have and the greatest rewards I get are when my children tell me that they love me or that I’m not that bad really. Sometimes they tell me that I’m better than other parents. They make me proud when they put into practice what I teach them without me reminding them.

I’m working on spending more time having fun and being happy.

Beautiful You by Rosie Molinary

Beautiful You by Rosie Molinary

Beautiful You, by Rosie Molinary, with 365 thoughts and challenges, is available at Amazon (click on the picture) and her website is Rosie Molinary

