Tags

, , , ,

When people tell me that they haven’t got time to do something they would like to do, I’ve got to the point where I always reply that they’ve got just the same 24 hours a day as everyone else and it’s about what they choose to spend their time doing and what they see their priorities as, not about how much time they have.

It’s probably a really irritating statement to be on the receiving end of, but not having the time is an excuse I have been trying to banish for the very same reasons. It’s my choice what I spend my time doing, as saying I can’t because I have other commitments tells me to question those commitments. Organising what you do with your life is far more important than all of the boring stuff we fill up our life with.

I have, so far, been able to prioritise exercise. I’ve only missed one day this month and that was because I was busy catching up on sleep, which is also important for me.

I spend more time working than I would like but I have tried to get better at working “smarter” i.e. concentrating more for longer so I can achieve more in less. I’m trying to give work a break every couple of hours for half an hour of exercise, cooking or domestic chores to clear my head and ready me for the next bout of work.

I’ve got a lot better last year at not working at the weekends. I used to try and catch up left over work from the previous week and now I leave it. I also plan my week better, looking at what I need to do and how to fit it into the week leaving time for other things.

I’m trying to increase the time I spend cooking which realistically means that I have to do thinking, planning and shopping at the weekend so that during the week when I have less enthusiasm all I have to do is cook. This is helping to bring back the pleasure although I’m a long way off enjoying it.

Having a life. Prioritising going out in the evening and having fun, spending time with people I want to spend time with (and occasionally with people I don’t). Trying new places and people, relaxing and enjoying the moment. Being silly.

I suppose I ought to mention my children, but really I seem to have dedicated the best part of my life to them. I leave them on their own a fair amount, to entertain and fight with each other depending on their mood. But we also spend good time together, having conversations over mealtimes, watching films together and having holidays. We don’t go out together quite as much as we used to, which does bother me but I need the evening time without them and we’re all tired at the weekends and enjoying the lack of timetable.

Finding time for me to do nothing much is still hard. If I’m not going out in the evening then I do have an early night, go for a bath, watch television in bed, read a book, surf the Internet or generally just mess about. I get frustrated by the children being older and therefore not peaceful in the evening and find it difficult to enjoy my time when they’re being loud (not necessarily misbehaving, just not as quiet as I would like).

I still need to stop feeling guilty or worrying about the things I don’t do but I am getting better at it.

So what is important to me? Children, work, friends, my hobbies and interests that I choose to partake in, my community. Me.

Not necessarily in that order.

Beautiful You by Rosie Molinary

Beautiful You by Rosie Molinary

Beautiful You, by Rosie Molinary, with 365 thoughts and challenges, is available at Amazon (click on the picture) and her website is Rosie Molinary

