Tags

, , ,

I don’t like doing this.

Physically I’m 5″8′, blue eyes, long blonde hair currently reverting to dark brown, overweight but not huge. I have a large wobbly tummy which I loathe but am getting better at ignoring.

I’m more intelligent than I give myself credit for (thanks Dad!). I’m curious about lots of different subjects. I would like to do degree after degree if I had the time and the money. I enjoy reading books about Science, Philosophy and random stuff (the next best thing to proper studying) even though I find concentrating on them difficult. I like to understand more and more about the world around me.

I am compassionate. I believe very firmly in not judging other people’s actions as you can never truly understand all their motivations. I try and put myself in other people’s shoes and understand they way they think. I try and consider how my life affects other people I will never meet but who share a common humanity and take what action I can, for example by boycotting companies whose values I do not share. I think the years of not being listened to by my parents have made me listen to other people and acknowledge their differing point of view.

I’m an atheist, humanist, sceptic, free-thinker secularist. Labels again. I don’t believe in any or all deities. I do believe firmly in the separation of church (any) and state, mainly because religions judge people and make didactic assumptions. I question assumptions and try to look at the facts without jumping to conclusions. I do enjoy the fairly rare occasions when one can discuss issues with people properly.

Politically I am a libertarian left/liberal depending on your definition. I think the government should interfere as little as possible on the one hand, but on the other that it needs to step in more and support those people who need it. I could fill a page expanding on that but I won’t. I’ve never joined a political party as I never thought any of them deserved to have me as a member!

I am organised and logical. I make lists and tick them off. I worry too much but less than I used to. I love reading. I read fiction most but enjoy read non-fiction when I have the time to focus on it, which is mostly holidays. I watch little television but am devoted to the few programmes I do watch and think most of the current fare is contemptuous. I love watching films but rarely find the time to go to the cinema for non children films. I am quite physically lazy although I’m trying to change that. I like travelling but can’t afford to do it.

Lastly but not least, I love my friends and care for them deeply, even some of the online ones I have never met. I am thankful for the light they bring into my life.

Reading through, this is a truly positive statement. I’ve been trying to chase down a quotation for it which has diverted me to a different track.

Beautiful You by Rosie Molinary

Beautiful You by Rosie Molinary

Beautiful You, by Rosie Molinary, with 365 thoughts and challenges, is available at Amazon (click on the picture) and her website is Rosie Molinary

