Tags

, ,

I’ve had a week to write about this and haven’t got there, or done my homework.

The intention was to do this mini course as a way of keeping my hand in and getting skills practice. Funnily enough that’s not happening. I have done virtually no reading on the subject since I finished the introduction course almost two months ago although I have bought some books. This is a mini course of six sessions and I shall miss one altogether and have to leave early from another which almost makes it not worth doing.

I entered the room for the first session to find a hubbub of conversation rather than the estranged silence when people don’t know each other. It turned out that most people had done the course with others last term and there were only a few like me who knew nobody. So I felt that I started with a disadvantage.

Having a different teacher brought a different approach. No mindfulness and the check out at the end was two words max. She also refers to practice client and practice counsellor, a mouthful compared to speaker and listener. She did once or twice talk about “fixing” people, which I don’t like. People seek therapy for help to become a better person. This doesn’t mean they’re broken and actually that is rather insulting.

It serves as a reminder that there is a looseness to this all. We talked briefly about the debate between directed and non-directed therapy, the extent to which a therapist should guide the client.

We also discussed how counselling has to work on the boundaries day of what is deemed safe that a client has to feel comfortable and safe but then try to go to the edge and step out.

Confidentiality was discussed. Do clients understand that keeping sessions confidential doesn’t mean they won’t be discussed with a supervisor or that they won’t be anonymity and discussed with a partner, or with friends? Or even online? I don’t think it does.

So I’m not convinced that I’m going to get a huge amount out of this but am going to give it a try. I felt more argumentative this session.

